Skip to content

Pumpkin Bread

October 14, 2011

2/3 cup shortening
2 & 2/3 cup sugar
4 eggs
1 (16 oz) can pumpkin (pure pumpkin not pie pumpkin)
2/3 cup water
3 & 1/3 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 & 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground cloves
2/3 cup coarsely chopped nuts
2/3 cup raisins (I skip the raisins)

Heat oven to 350*. Grease bottoms of 2 loaf pans (9x5x3) or 3 loaf pans ( 8&1/2x4x2&1/2) [I grease the full pan, and use mini loaf pans].

Mix shortening and sugar in large bowl. Add eggs, pumpkin and water. Blend in flour, baking soda, salt, baking powder, cinnamon and cloves. Stir in nuts and raisins. Pour into prepared pans.

Bake until wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 1 hour 10 minutes; cool slightly. Loosen sides of loaves from pans; remove from pans. Cool completely before slicing.

To store: wrap and refrigerate no longer than 10 days.

**This recipe comes from Betty Crocker Cookbook circa 1976**

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2011 6:03 am

    Great recipe! I am feeling under pressure to post a pumpkin bread recipe!

    • October 15, 2011 10:23 am

      Thanks! I was having trouble finding a good recipe, so I went to the old and trusty Betty Crocker. My son is the big pumpkin fan around here, but I was looking for something that everyone would enjoy.

  2. October 15, 2011 11:05 am

    Excellent recipe today thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    Check out this healthy recipe – Cheese Topped Vegetables

  3. October 15, 2011 5:08 pm

    Pumpkin bread is so nutritious and delicious. I use a recipe I got from Molly o Neil’s “New York Cookbook.” called Sophie Minkoffs Pumpkin Bread. I do use rum to heat the raisins.

    • October 15, 2011 5:24 pm

      Hmm…I never thought of using rum to heat the raisins. Will have to give that a try sometime. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

Leave a comment